LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 154 Old 01-12-2016, 07:05 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Power Commander on GSX-S1000 and dyno sheet

Hi GSX-Sers

I have had my GSX-S since October and have recently joined the forum after reading a lot of posts about "snappy throttle" and hard to get "constant throttle". I was a mechanic for a number of years and my new GSX-S dissapointed me from the start with regards to the characteristics of the motor. It was nearly dangerous on rough roads (and Aus has lots of these) due to the snatchy throttle, I was always chasing the throttle to keep a constant speed and not get caught by one of our speed cameras, the idle was inconsistent and it displayed symptoms of being excessively lean until it hit the go button at around 7,000 rpm.

Being a mechanic I had to fix all these things that were bugging me, I like my bikes perfect and are renown for my patience when sorting a bike out.

I took my GSX-S to DeWith Motorsport (Mick DeWith is a great friend of mine) and ran it up on the dyno and found the bike to be very lean up to 8,000 rpm. Just what I suspected. It's 138.6 HP was far below the advertised Suzuki figure so I was justified in complaining that the bike was a bit weak.

I fitted a Power Commander 5 that had a map in it for the GSX-S1000 but that made very little difference so we began the process of manually mapping the fuel through the Power Commander. 44 dyno runs later and we had roughed out a starting map which gave me a 4 to 8 HP gain right through the rev range with a top output of 146.8 HP. Now I was getting what the Suzuki advertising told me.