GSXS 1000 Forum banner

Heated glove liners vs heated grips

3K views 11 replies 11 participants last post by  frog4aday 
#1 ·
As a former spoiled Californian who's been exiled to the midwest, this is my first season dealing with riding in sh*tty cold weather that's not rain (it's not even winter and it's snowing... poor me).

I have no experience with heated gear or grips, but I'm looking at heated glove liners as an option being that they are cheaper and I figure I could use them in the car as well.

How well does heated hand gear perform vs heated grips?

Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

#2 ·
I have no experience with heated grips but i can vouch for the FIVE HG1 rechargeable heated gloves.
They are waterproof, really well made, light for a winter glove (battery adds weight of course) and best of all warm.
3 heat settings, last a couple of hours or more on the highest setting.

Used them in winters where temps are 0.C or i guess around 30F for you Muricans.
The heating elements cover the back of the hand and fingers entirely.

If it were colder than this, i'd go for both heated gloves and grips. Warmth from inside and out would see you through almost anything.

#3 ·
Heated liners sound like a good idea and with the right gloves will probably work quite well. Before you go off and invest you need to think how tight are your existing gloves. If there isn't room for the liner and the glove is too tight you will only cut off the circulation in your fingers and then have cold AND uncomfortable hands.
Sometimes it's best just to invest in the proper gear for the time of year. A good set of winter gloves sized to fit with a liner or grips will always be best. Goretex or similar is always an added bonus

#4 ·
I've got heated glove liners and have also used heated grips on my previous bike and I'll take the convenience of the grips on a bike any day of the week.