User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-12-2019, 06:16 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Heated gear battery wiring routing?

I'm new to heated gear and I gave in and bought some Hotwired heated gloves and a heated jacket liner at Cyclegear.

I originally thought I would try to route the battery wiring to the handlebar like the clutch cable, but it's too short. I currently have it sticking out between the tank and frame on the front right side, just in front of the side panel/next to the frame weld/near the PAIR valve hose to airbox connection point. Definitely a bit unsightly. I also tried routing it near the frame hole next to my frame sliders but figured it would be better to have the wiring as high as possible so I don't get it tangled with my legs or somehow the tires. I also thought about routing it out of the seat or passenger seat but was worried if I would break something if I ever forgot to disconnect it before dismounting.

Any suggestions on a good wiring setup?

Last edited by gsxsdave; 11-12-2019 at 07:42 PM.
post #2 of 5 Old 11-14-2019, 06:05 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
If you can come up by the front right or left side of the rider's seat and then zip tie it to a frame rail or something 'static' so it can't fall down into the chain or rear wheel, that would get it mostly out of view when not using it. I have a velcro 'tie' I use to bundle up the cable when not using it.
post #3 of 5 Old 11-14-2019, 06:24 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Garage
This brings up another good question, how much can our bike handle? I had a first gen FZ1 and it would handle my vest just fine but if I wore the pants liners too it'd deplete the battery as I had overloaded the charging system. It's the reason I replaced that bike with my FJR. Now I have a full Gerbing suit, but have neglected to put a connector on the Gixxus because I didn't know if it could handle it.