LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-15-2016, 10:56 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Trackday on GSXS

HI All

Thought this might be interesting for those on here that do trackdays.

I took my F yesterday to a trackday at Cadwell Park. I have been doing these events for 20 years or thereabouts and have ridden loads of the Uk tracks, and abroad. Had loads of bikes including racebikes, sportsbikes, supermotos, etc etc!

I normally would use my ZX10R but not yesterday as its getting some performance mods and as it was 4 degrees I dont think the race tyres would be any good!

Anyway I rode the GSXS to Cadwell- about 45 minutes- was very very cold ( and I have heated grips! )

The good bits-

I stiffened up the suspension a few clicks from standard- front rebound and comp 2 harder on both- back a third of a turn in. Made a great deal of difference on the track but a little harsh on the road. Turned in great, kept a line and great feedback.

Bike is very stable on a straight- miles better than any naked would be.

power was superb- could catch the 1000 racebikes on the straights- ( the ones that were a few years old track hacks sort of bikes anyway )

Gearing was very good too- to be honest I never thought about it so it must have been ok.

Very comfy to get to the track and back.

Heated grips came in handy.

Electronics were quite subtle and dropped the front quite gently. In level 1 I would ideally like to be able to wheelie a little higher and longer ( my S1000R was a monster at this in Dynamic Pro- whilst still having some form of intervention )- but overall not bad.

The bad-