throttle free play - Suzuki GSXS1000 Forum
User Tag List

 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 04-19-2016, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: mid Wales
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
throttle free play

my first 600 mile service is coming up soon and the dealer said he will take out the play in my throttle if i want, it doesn't bother me that much but just wondering how many on here have done it and is it worth it
lumberjack is offline  
post #2 of 14 Old 04-19-2016, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Dumfries S.W Scotland
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Garage
I done it myself after reading a post in here, certainly makes things a bit better
lumberjack likes this.

Certain people are like slinky's, no apparent use but always bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs
landy10 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 04-19-2016, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
JeffroGymnast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Garage
My dealer set it "to spec" and it was quite loose...

Here is how I do it:
  1. get the bike up to operating temp
  2. tighten the adjuster until there is barely any play
  3. turn the handlebars lock-to-lock and listen for any change in idle speed
  4. if no change in idle speed, tighten the adjuster 1 turn, then go back to step 3
  5. once you hear a change in idle speed, turn the adjuster back out 1 whole turn

The bike is a lot easier to manage now!
JeffroGymnast is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 Old 04-19-2016, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
ackack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Southend-on-sea ESSEX UK
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Garage
One of the first things I did, made quite a difference.
ackack is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 04-20-2016, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Waikato, New Zealand
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
I took it out too, what a difference! I did take it right back as far as it would go but that turned out to be too far, all you had to do was breathe on the throttle and it revved... Backed it off a couple of turns and it's glorious!
black_sheep_biker is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-20-2016, 11:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: New Westminster British Columbia
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Takes about 24 seconds to adjust your throttle cable. Learn how to do it and you don't need to rely on the dealer. It really is very simple. As others have stated, always turn your bars lock to lock
after adjusting, to make sure that you haven't set things too tight.
Ripemup likes this.
fog ducker is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-21-2016, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Thumper07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
A loose throttle cable will make the bike more jerkier than people say it already is. I tighten my cable so that there's no play. It's not necessary to turn the handlebars lock to lock to make sure the throttle is free. Only Harley Davidson, non fly-by-wire, bikes need that. But most Harleys don't even use cables anymore, they are remote control.

Like Fog Ducker said, learn the basic simple stuff and you'll save yourself a lot of unnecessary headaches.




1-1986 Harley Sportster 883
2-1992 Suzuki Bandit 600
3-1993 Kawaski Ninja 600
4-1994 Suzuki GSXR600
5-1995 Buell M2 Cyclone
6-1996 Honda VTR1000
7-1997 Suzuki Hayabusa

8-1997 Suzuki DR650
9-1998 Yamaha VStar 1100
10-2000 Kawaski Z1000
11-2003 Yamaha FZ1
12-2005 Ducati S2R 1000
13-2006 Honda CBR600RR
14-2007 Honda CBR1000RR
15-2007 Aprilia Tuono 1000
16-2013 Harley Davidson Switchback

17-2016 Suzuki GSXS1000



Last edited by Thumper07; 04-21-2016 at 09:06 AM.
Thumper07 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 04-21-2016, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Blackpool. England.
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumper07 View Post
A loose throttle cable will make the bike more jerkier than people say it already is. I tighten my cable so that there's no play. It's not necessary to turn the handlebars lock to lock to make sure the throttle is free. Only Harley Davidson, non fly-by-wire, bikes need that. But most Harleys don't even use cables anymore, they are remote control.

Like Fog Ducker said, learn the basic simple stuff and you'll save yourself a lot of unnecessary headaches.
Wrong pal.....
ya still got to check lock to lock on the handlebars so it doesnt interfere with throttle actuation. Having no free play aint good.
madmartin is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-21-2016, 01:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: mid Wales
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fog ducker View Post
Takes about 24 seconds to adjust your throttle cable. Learn how to do it and you don't need to rely on the dealer. It really is very simple. As others have stated, always turn your bars lock to lock
after adjusting, to make sure that you haven't set things too tight.
do all my own servicing and mods on our scramblers gas gas and rm but when it comes to fiddling about with my zuk that i go flying about the roads on at shall we say brisk pace i want to know nothing is going to fall off or kill me
lumberjack is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 04-21-2016, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
JeffroGymnast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumper07 View Post
A loose throttle cable will make the bike more jerkier than people say it already is. I tighten my cable so that there's no play. It's not necessary to turn the handlebars lock to lock to make sure the throttle is free. Only Harley Davidson, non fly-by-wire, bikes need that. But most Harleys don't even use cables anymore, they are remote control.

Like Fog Ducker said, learn the basic simple stuff and you'll save yourself a lot of unnecessary headaches.
Take a closer look at the Suzuki... It has throttle cables which attach directly to the main throttle bodies.
JeffroGymnast is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Suzuki GSXS1000 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome