User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 06-18-2016, 10:12 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
GSX-S1000 as second bike?

I've been riding for almost 2 years. I took the MSF class and then picked up an FZ07. Earlier this week somebody bought my bike on a whim. I'm out shopping. The S1000 sounds good but all of the talk about the throttle being jerky has me spooked. I can't afford to flip bikes every 2 years. This one was a fluke because I had a cash buyer at $100 over blue book.

1) Is the throttle really that bad?
2) I am about 230 in gear. Am I going to be wanting a suspension upgrade right out the gate like the 07?

Short list of bikes besides the S1000:
Z1000
FZ09
XSR900

Thanks!
post #2 of 13 Old 06-18-2016, 11:37 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Garage
For the money the best naked bike out there. I had the "throttle problem" but it cured itself at about 600 miles. When I was deciding which bike to buy it was between a Monster 1200, a left over 2015 Ducati Street fighter and the S1000. The street fighter was hard on the crotch area, the Monster just didn't have the look I preferred in a Modern naked bike. a true classic but expensive. The GSXS 1000 is street fast and comfortable.

2016 S1000 Yosh exhaust can, Vagabond fender eliminator and frame sliders
post #3 of 13 Old 06-18-2016, 01:03 PM

Quoted: 31 Post(s)