Speedometer Not Working - Suzuki GSXS1000 Forum
User Tag List

 23Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Rapido1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Cabo San Lucas
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Speedometer Not Working

Final Edit: Problem Solved! See page 8 (unless you like a good story, read all)


So this problem just showed up.

No Speedo, Tach or Trip Meter. Go to page 3 for latest findings.



My Speedo just shows "0". Everything else on the dash is lit up and working fine, tach, fuel, odometer, etc.

The speedo was working fine, these are the only new events: While installing new LED signals, I blew a 10 amp fuse, but replaced it. Checked all fuses, they are all good. Also, just had rear tire off, but my understanding is the speedo is read off the front wheel.

Very strange, hoping someone has had this happen before and can tell me what to look for.

Thanks

Last edited by Rapido1; 08-22-2018 at 09:48 PM.
Rapido1 is online now  
post #2 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
bking1441's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Garage
The speedo get its "data" from the ECU via the front wheel ABS-sensor.

So:
I would suspect you now have a warning light for non-functional ABS?

2018 - Speed Triple S
2015 - GSX-S1000
2009 - B-King 1441
bking1441 is offline  
post #3 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Rapido1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Cabo San Lucas
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
It's a non-ABS model
Rapido1 is online now  
 
post #4 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia.
Posts: 1,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Have you since replacing the fuse, try disconnecting a battery lead for say 5 minutes to see if it will do a reset ?

Rob.
Slower and Slower is offline  
post #5 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
PhuketPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Phuket. Thailand
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Garage
Did you remove the wheel speed senor when removing the rear wheel, if not you may have damaged it - The speedometer uses a signal from the ECU that is a combination of front and rear wheel sensors
PhuketPaul is offline  
post #6 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Rapido1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Cabo San Lucas
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhuketPaul View Post
Did you remove the wheel speed senor when removing the rear wheel, if not you may have damaged it - The speedometer uses a signal from the ECU that is a combination of front and rear wheel sensors
Once again PP with the info, many say the speedo is taken from only the front wheel. You say a combo of both, which makes sense.

I removed the rear brake caliper with sensor attached, as I have done several times before. But I did notice the "tip" or nipple of the sensor would get hung up on the rotor until I worked the rear wheel into position (not forcing but definite contact). How could i have damaged it to the point it doesn't pick up signal?
Rapido1 is online now  
post #7 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 10:23 PM
Senior Member
 
PhuketPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Phuket. Thailand
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapido1 View Post
Once again PP with the info, many say the speedo is taken from only the front wheel. You say a combo of both, which makes sense.

I removed the rear brake caliper with sensor attached, as I have done several times before. But I did notice the "tip" or nipple of the sensor would get hung up on the rotor until I worked the rear wheel into position (not forcing but definite contact). How could i have damaged it to the point it doesn't pick up signal?
Anyone tried a long wheelie, does the speedometer say 0? NO, thus it gets information from both sensors

The service manual says if the Speedometer doesn't work to check both wheel sensors first, it is very easy to damage the sensor removing the rear wheel





PhuketPaul is offline  
post #8 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
PhuketPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Phuket. Thailand
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Garage
OK, Ignore what I was saying - the manual says to check both wheel sensors, but I just did an experiment with the bike up on stands, engine running and in gear with rear wheel spinning, 0 on the speedometer, span the front wheel after the rear had stopped and got some speed showing on speedometer.

However you might still get an error with the rear damaged
PhuketPaul is offline  
post #9 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Rapido1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Cabo San Lucas
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Thank you PP for the great info.

I guess somehow I must have damaged the sensor, or the gap is too big. I'll remove and inspect. I did notice that it seems the face of the sensor does not look perfectly flat/parallel with the sensor rotor face, but slightly tilted. And I mean just a hair. But I did notice that. I'll take it off and check. Looks like I might have to replace with a new sensor, hopefully not
Rapido1 is online now  
post #10 of 92 Old 08-17-2018, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Rapido1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Cabo San Lucas
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhuketPaul View Post
OK, Ignore what I was saying - the manual says to check both wheel sensors, but I just did an experiment with the bike up on stands, engine running and in gear with rear wheel spinning, 0 on the speedometer, span the front wheel after the rear had stopped and got some speed showing on speedometer.

However you might still get an error with the rear damaged
So you are saying the speedo works only off the front wheel?
Rapido1 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Suzuki GSXS1000 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome