24Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 09-22-2018, 09:41 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
HYPERPRO new install!

Just put a Hyperpro SSB-022 progressive spring on the rear of my 2016 1000F last night. I weigh 225 with gear and consider myself a very aggressive street rider and I live in Central Massachusetts where the bumps are many. I can't begin to tell you how pleased I am with the performance in all categories, especially the now lack of jarring bumps.
Let me say I am not a proponent of SAG. I try to find the correct spring for my weight and riding ability and go by feel after that. This spring feels awesome. Takes away 90% of the jarring bumps and packs down in the corners beautifully. I left the recbound at 1 turn back from CW and added no preload. I figured why compress the advantages of the softer spring. I took a 25 mile ride this morning over some of the bumpiest and twisty roads I have here and I could find no faults and no need for further adjustments, which shocked me. According to Hyperpro the spring weight is 485 to 715. As you can tell I am totally over the moon. I've had several sprot bikes and they all suffer from the same jarring ride on bumpy roads NO MORE! Not cheap but $150 is well worth how the bike feels now.
post #2 of 16 Old 09-23-2018, 05:32 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
hi chaz, that sounds sweet, awesome outcome, ive already replaced my rear shock with a nitron r2, i was told the stock rear shock had very harsh damping as well as the too hard spring, which is why i went with full replacement, ive also installed k-tech fork valves and progressive fork springs to match the upgrade at rear, really recomend the k-teck valves, i also got their comp adjusters that allow finer tuning
kneeslider and BKing111 like this.
post #3 of 16 Old 09-23-2018, 08:28 PM

Quoted: 425 Post(s)