29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2017, 11:34 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up Why the GSX-S1000F ticked my boxes

You know, it's probably easy for all of us on here (ie. owners and riders of the GSX-S) to get quite blasé about the bike we ride and forget it's strengths - most forums tend to focus on being critical of the bad bits rather than the good. So, as a total newbie to the GSX-S world (but not new to riding) I thought I'd just pop in here and give you my thoughts on why I went for it (collected my bike yesterday).

I've been riding a Triumph Street Triple for over a year, and utterly utterly loved the thing. It was near enough perfect. I loved the seating position, the forward-bias of it, the wide bars, the sporty nature and flickability, the beautiful character and flexibility of the engine and the overall value for money it represented. I liked the styling. About the only thing I could critique on it was the throttle behaviour a little. My riding is primarily short trips for fun - weekend blasts with friends or a short cross-country commute to work or to visit buddies. It was perfect for this.

But as I look towards doing some longer distance stuff this year - one or two journeys only - the thought of doing them on a Striple wasn't the most exciting of propositions. Don't get me wrong, I'd do it, but... meh... a smidgen more weather protection wouldn't have gone amiss. So I decided to start looking for something that could deliver everything the Triple did, but with slightly more practicality for long-distance use.