post #1 of 22 Old 09-29-2016, 07:58 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Hello from the Chicago area

Hi folks, my name is AJ and I'm from the Chicagoland area. I've been looking into a GSX-S1000 for a few months now. I've been riding for 3 years on the street and a while longer on small dirt bikes. I'm on my 3rd bike in as many years, I currently ride a 2016 Yamaha FZ-07. My last two bikes were small Hondas; a CBR250R and a CBR500R, great for commuting but very, very boring.

Due to a ton of issues I've been having with my 6 month old Yamaha, I'll be looking to make the switch to a GSXS either mid to late next season or over the winter of 2017/2018. Before anyone asks here's the list of problems I've had with the FZ (if anyone is curious):

1) Oil leak at 2k miles from the weep hole (fixed under warranty) - bad seal was to blame
2) Chain ate through the chain guard and swingarm (fixed under warranty) - bad chain was to blame, slack was always good when I would adjust it
3) Coolant leak at 3,800 miles from the weep hole (fixed under warranty) - out of round impeller shaft/seal to blame
4) Sidestand switch died on a trip, had to bypass it to get home (fixed under warranty) - I left the bypassed plug on but kept the new plug for when I sell it
5) Bent a rim on a pothole (fixed out of pocket) probably a freak accident. No idea when it happened, noticed when I was cleaning the chain and tires on day
6) Swingarm dust cover worked itself out of the pivot, water got in and ruined the bearing (fixed under warranty) - bad seal

So after wasting a ton of money on extras, I'm going to give this bike a shot next season. However, the warranty ends mid March of 2017. So once it starts costing me money for stupid repairs, it's gone. So I'm here for the time being to read up on issues, common problems, complaints/praises, and probably just be a lurker until I pull the trigger on one.