4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 09-14-2017, 12:43 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Greetings from the midwest

Just wanted to say hello all from Chicagoland, USA. I've been riding since 2011, my previous bikes being a GSXR600 and 400SM, and having taken a hiatus for the past few years due to becoming a family man. Well, time is nearing to get back on the saddle and I'm currently looking at a few different bikes in order to make that happen.

I love canyon carving and definitely am looking to do some more track days. However, the bulk of its use will be for commuting (60-70% I'm guessing), approximately 30 miles or so daily.

For my budget, I've decided on a short list with the GSXS1000 topping it (blacked out Z would be ideal, though I'm looking at a 16/17 leftover for the savings). On paper at least, the GSXS seems to offer the most bang for the buck compared to other bikes in its class/price range. A snatchy throttle seems to be the only major drawback (to me at least), but thankfully the TPS thread seems to remedy that issue. Other minor areas of concern are the lack of steering damper (I nearly shat my pants when I got some crazy head shake after hitting a pothole while doing 70 mph on a congested freeway), along with its heavier weight compared to my lighter former bikes (supermoto handling is amazing, freeway capability not so much).

Being a cornering junky, I'm hesitant to pull the trigger on a GSXS because I already know a supersport will get the job done in the twisties and track (and do it well) but I have no idea how well the GSXS would fare. And so, I'm also considering a 16/17 GSXR750 with the only drawback being the riding position, which I hate to admit seems to be a major priority these days (mid 30's). Getting old sucks!