3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 04-13-2019, 11:29 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
High Frequency Vibrations

Sooooo, this is a weird one. I'm very new to street bikes, I only have 2550 miles on my GSX-S750 and today I suddenly became aware of a pretty strong high frequency vibration (Buzz) from the engine. I rode 90 miles one way and the bike felt just like it always does. Then I changed out the handlebars for Renthal Fatbars Street Low, tightened my chain (1 inch of play on rear stand) and that's it. I just got new riding boots and when I got on the highway and past through about 5K RPM I noticed a buzz in the pegs and thought it was the soles of my new boots. as I got up to 6K RPM it turned into a pretty good buzz. I rotated my heel to touch the engine and could really feel it, pretty strong vibe. The bars have a tiny bit of vibes but nothing bad. My mirrors are really clear and it seems to be from the engine back. Is this something I should be worried about? It's the first time I got off of my bike and felt like I'm vibrating still, sort of weird.
post #2 of 13 Old 04-14-2019, 05:14 AM

Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Just clarify 'rear stand'? Do you mean side stand or accessory paddock stand ?
I did once set the chain free play on the paddock stand on a Bandit 1250, and it fine on the stand, BUT was far too tight (no free play) in the chain with an increase in vibration once on the road. But, Gear changes were good !
Some really expensive boots have gel pads in the sole, and old boots get softer with time.
My last pair of alpinestars gave initially more vibration than the older ones, and bikes without rubber on the pegs do pass more up into the boots.
On a personal note, I get vibrations from my DL1000 comfy seat up into my pelvic bones, up through the spine and resonates a bone in my ear, True.