• 1 Post By Beaker

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-25-2016, 06:49 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Front brake noise after tire change.

Had my tires changed to PR4s a couple weekends ago.

Over the last couple days I have noticed the front brakes squealing a lot before coming to a full stop.

Have been riding in a lot of rain the last couple days and the bike is covered in mud and road grime. Rain forecasted the rest of the week so I haven't bothered cleaning anything but the chain.

I'm no mechanic but in the past when a little bit of dirt seems to have gotten in the brake pads some hard braking clears it out. It is not working right now. Seems to be less noise for a bit but then it is back shortly after. Never had this issue after just a few days of rain on previous bikes either.

Is there anything I should look for to see if the dealer screwed up with the brakes when putting the front tire back on? Visually the pads look like they are touching the rotor when stopped, but I think that is normal?

Haven't had much luck finding a dealer I really trust since coming to DFW. Pretty much everyone I have gone too has screwed something up or given me a reason to believe their "mechanics" know less than I do which is pretty scary with as limited as my mechanic skills are.
post #2 of 7 Old 05-25-2016, 12:29 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
My front brakes have sqeaked since I bought the bike. Since I have trued disc pads on a flat table and lightly emmerid the discs believing that I had not bedding the front pads in due to too light a braking? Problem went away for a few hundred miles but has returned. Bike now has 14000 miles on it and I have decided annoying as it is to put up with it.
post #3 of 7 Old 05-25-2016, 02:34 PM

Quoted: 34 Post(s)
if the pad thickness looks good, then a little noise won't hurt anything.

2016 S1000

post #4 of 7 Old 05-26-2016, 07:13 AM

Quoted: 165 Post(s)