7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 06-24-2017, 01:49 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
No dash, bike is dead

Was putting on a tidy tail kit. Wired in the blinkers no problem. Had the dash on to check blinkers. Started to wire the tag light. It came on, then the whole system went down. No when I turn the key, the only thing I get is the head light. Every thing else is dead. Help please, I'm no mechanic.
post #2 of 17 Old 06-24-2017, 03:07 PM

Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Garage
You wired while the ignition/current was "live"?
"I am no mechanic".. well, then you should *not* touch anything. Especially anything involving wires/current/connectors.

You have probably blown a fuse or two.
Check the fuses. Replace those that have blown.
*If* you decide to continue with installing this tail "tidy" kit, disconnect the battery first.
tonyt and Snakenasty like this.

2018 - Speed Triple S
2015 - GSX-S1000
2009 - B-King 1441
post #3 of 17 Old 06-24-2017, 03:16 PM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
That was it. Thanks, will disconnect battery.
bking1441 and R1KSU like this.

post #4 of 17 Old 08-12-2017, 12:20 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Smile

Yeh interesting. Just a beware note about when you detach fairings for oil change and then start back up, looking for oil leaks. No dash also. The coupler that you have to disconnect on right side has obviously the circuitry for the electrical and dash system. Normally after an oil change before I re assemble fairings I start her up to make sure no leaks from oil filter housing and indeed oil drain area. So I was not able to see if the oil pressure light would extinguish like all my other bikes (indicating) firstly it actually works and of course that indeed the new oil is circulating correctly (as it should)
Just thought would add this info..
Jeffro

Last edited by Jeffro; 08-12-2017 at 12:21 AM. Reason: Typo
post #5 of 17 Old 08-12-2017, 10:25 AM