Engine flashing/not starting after attempting TPS adjustment - Suzuki GSXS1000 Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 10:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Engine flashing/not starting after attempting TPS adjustment

Ok, I think I need some help.
I've hooked up the kawasaki lead and just about to warm up the bike before I adjust the tps.
Engine light is flashing and the bike wont turn over...

Ideas???
fishfinger is offline  
post #2 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
PhuketPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Phuket. Thailand
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Garage
You removed the immobiliser from around the ignition barrel, put it back and try starting it
PhuketPaul is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 11:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhuketPaul View Post
You removed the immobiliser from around the ignition barrel, put it back and try starting it
I have connected it back and no difference.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190302_151406_1551500364622.jpg (265.3 KB, 33 views)
fishfinger is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 11:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Does this look correct?
Breakout lead into tps connector, then tps plug into breakout lead?
The other connector is unattached?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190302_151442_1551500410099.jpg (289.0 KB, 37 views)
fishfinger is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
PhuketPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Phuket. Thailand
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Garage
I can see its connected but did you put it back in place over the ignition barrel. If you have and still have an error you need to read the code
PhuketPaul is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
PhuketPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Phuket. Thailand
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Garage
No, breakout lead is NOT connected correctly. One end of the breakout plugs into the TPS, the other end plugs into the connector that was originally attached to the TPS. So the breakout lead connects from TPS to original lead and enables you to measure the voltage on the lines


Watch the Video starting at 3:38


Last edited by PhuketPaul; 03-01-2019 at 11:39 PM.
PhuketPaul is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Ok, bike has started (ignition cover needed to be properly put back and seated correctly)
Another problem now with the meter.
I have no idea how to use it, it just shows 000's.

Is this the correct setting?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190302_153824_1551501741574.jpg (290.8 KB, 22 views)
fishfinger is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
PhuketPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Phuket. Thailand
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Garage
Read my message below and watch the video
PhuketPaul is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 03-01-2019, 11:53 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
I believe everything is hooked up correctly, just the STP connector is not plugged into anything.
fishfinger is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 03-02-2019, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
PhuketPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Phuket. Thailand
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfinger View Post
I believe everything is hooked up correctly, just the STP connector is not plugged into anything.
The Kawasaki colours are different to my Suzuki Lead, but keep trying different pairs of the three leads until you get a voltage around 1V

More Info

Suzuki Lead


Last edited by PhuketPaul; 03-02-2019 at 12:37 AM.
PhuketPaul is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Suzuki GSXS1000 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome