1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 09-08-2016, 10:38 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Track tyres advice

I'm picking up a cbr600f this weekend which I intend on using as a track toy but also I want to use it on the road. Tbh i have a massive soft spot for this bike & hondas in general, ive soon realised i cant do without one in my life.
I've bought another set of wheels so I can have general use tyres and track tyres on the other, I may even buy another set so I can run wets when needed.

What tyres should I look at getting? Are wets needed? I'm in the uk after all...

I must point out I've never done a track day before, I'm not a great rider by any means and will not be going like a tit until my skill has grown. I am a pretty good/competent road rider but I know that's totally different.

I have got a trailer to cart it to the track, I don't intend on using the tyres to commute to the track first.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
post #2 of 14 Old 09-08-2016, 11:23 AM

Quoted: 17 Post(s)
I normally run a fast intermediate to slow advance pace and still can run a good DOT Supersport tire like Bridgestone S21, or Dunlop Q3, or Metzler M5.

They provide more than enough grip, don't require tire warmers, and you should get decent life out of them until you get faster.
LEAVEITSTOCK likes this.
post #3 of 14 Old 09-08-2016, 06:08 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Garage
With tyre technology these days, you could run road tyres for your first few track days and be happy. My first ever track experience was on a Hyosung GT250r with the stock Shinko tyres. I still managed to embarass a couple of Kawasaki 650r's in the twisties.