GSXS 1000 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been riding for 7 and months and I'm looking to get something more exciting. Currently I've been riding a Honda CBR650F (inline-4 about 85 HP) for about 4 months. I seem to be pretty strong on throttle control and progressive braking, I focus on keeping those smooth as much as I can.

This bike is really interesting compared to the competition, here are the main reasons I like it:
-I like that suspension and brakes seem to be a little cut above what you get with the Z900 or MT-09. I'm a big guy so this is important.
-Frankly that 60 months 0% APR that Suzuki is offering is really tempting
-Bike doesn't seem to have any fatal flaw, like the MT-09 with those horrible headlights that you can't see **** with at night. People have spent a lot of money trying to make those decent.
-Having that top-end available when you need it is nice, but I doubt I'll get to really use it much outside of the highway
-Has traction control to ease myself into it.
-Exhaust sounds really nice for a stock bike

Questions:
-Is this bike really that insane for someone with limited experience? I haven't had a track day but as I mentioned above I always try to focus on the fundamentals and build that skill-set. There aren't that many twisties around here but I practice them when I can.
-Any good thoughts or comparisons with the Z900? I like the capabilities the S1000 offers but I have considered that the Z900 might be a bit easier to enjoy at legal speeds.
-The brakes seem to have good stopping power, but some have mentioned they are a nightmare to control. Is it really that bad?

Thank you for any input!

·
Registered
2,019 Posts