GSXS 1000 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I have been riding for about 10 years now but really only manage the odd day out about once a fortnight. I still see myself as being quite experienced but I never seem to manage using all the side tread on tyres. You know where you are when you see the lines on front and rear tyres (fanny lines)I have recently purchased my blue gsxs and is without a doubt the best handling bike I have ever owned. I always feel I am leaning pretty far over but when i check tyres I still have around half an inch to spare. What's the secret?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
647 Posts
They are called chicken strips in the UK and I really wouldn't worry about it.
The secret is to lean more and use TC1 or off. The moment you start to think about chicken strips could be the moment you run out of talent. They will go in time.

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
You need to find a quiet bend and practice using a little more speed/lean each time. Do not look at the road in front of you but look right through the bend to where you want to go. When the peg blobs start scraping you will be near as my photo. Still plenty more lean left if you want but that's about my limit on the road these days aged 74.:)

·
Registered
448 Posts
Consider this stolen...."The moment you start to think about chicken strips could be the moment you run out of talent."

Seriously, listen to what Ackact said.

Would I be a fast runner if my shoes were worn out?

·
Registered
299 Posts