GSXS 1000 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for almost 2 years. I took the MSF class and then picked up an FZ07. Earlier this week somebody bought my bike on a whim. I'm out shopping. The S1000 sounds good but all of the talk about the throttle being jerky has me spooked. I can't afford to flip bikes every 2 years. This one was a fluke because I had a cash buyer at $100 over blue book.

1) Is the throttle really that bad?
2) I am about 230 in gear. Am I going to be wanting a suspension upgrade right out the gate like the 07?

Short list of bikes besides the S1000:
Z1000
FZ09
XSR900

Thanks!

·
Registered
49 Posts
For the money the best naked bike out there. I had the "throttle problem" but it cured itself at about 600 miles. When I was deciding which bike to buy it was between a Monster 1200, a left over 2015 Ducati Street fighter and the S1000. The street fighter was hard on the crotch area, the Monster just didn't have the look I preferred in a Modern naked bike. a true classic but expensive. The GSXS 1000 is street fast and comfortable.

·
Registered
164 Posts
My previous bike was rated at 98 hp. When braking in my GSXS, it felt faster about everywhere, especially passing and it got better mileage. So I guess just because the bike has +140 hp or whatever doesn't mean a person has to use it all on every ride. So it would get my vote for your second bike over those listed, especially if range comes into play (4.5 gal tank). When the low gas light comes on, I consistently get around 160 miles and take about 3.3 to 3.5 gal (US) and that's with minor hooliganizing in there :). And I have the f model and do advocate an ABS model, even though been riding +50 years.

·
Registered
7 Posts