GSXS 1000 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New here!

I rode dirtbikes throughout my childhood up until I graduated high school (I'm 26 now). I wanted to get into street bikes, so I started on a 1981 Yamaha XJ550 in 2018, moved to a 2004 Yamaha fz6 in 2019, then added a 2019 Tao Tao TBR7 (chinese dual sport). After getting over the fz6 in 2 months, I went and bought a 2009 Triumph speed triple which lasted until winter. Now I'm onto this bike for 2020. So far I've been buying newer/faster bikes each year, I'm debating whether I'll be keeping this one or trading it in. I really do enjoy having the reliability and comfort of the gsx-s, but I also miss the powerband of a large triple or a v4. Might do the exhaust and rear shock next, but I'm not sure yet. I've been eyeing up the new streetfighter v4 or tuono 1100 factory, so I'm not sure if I want to sink any more money into this one just yet. I want to say thanks for all the insight already, before I was a member I learned a lot from the various posts in this community.

I bought my 2017 gsx-s in April with 2500 miles on it and put a Dano's ecu flash, quickshifter, and BMC air filter on it. Then I added some Michelin Road 5's (190/55 in the rear). Just yesterday I installed a new 520 chain with a 16/47 sprocket setup. Holy moly is this thing fun now! I was trying to get it to wheelie easier, and this definitely did the trick. I may even go to a 48 tooth rear for a little more fun. I can now clutch up 1st, 2nd, and 3rd with relative ease. 3rd is a little tougher, but still doable. Now the bike has 5000 miles on it and I've had zero issues.

-DVM17

·
Registered
221 Posts
There's always something else out there calling and the Tuono is mine but I just don't like the looks of the front end (not that ours is much better looking). Also, the reliability and cost of maintenance steers me away. I may add another 2nd bike but I think the GSX-S1000 will stay.

·
Registered
7 Posts