GSXS 1000 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, hoping someone else has had this issue. Running Motul 300v synthetic (race oil) for no other reason other than I had it handy. Now serious clutch slipping on acceleration in 2nd-4th. I ran this oil in our ninja 1000 and our Z900 and the 900 slipped a bit so I stopped using it. The GSX slips huge, so I will be changing oil out shortly, but wanted to know if anyone has had clutch slipping issues iregardless.
thanks

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
pay 6 bucks for amsoil 6 month membership or whatever it is. find some other stuff to buy, or buy 2 oil changes worth and oils and free shipping. you get 25% off the whole order. I buy my car/mower/motorcycle/etc all fluids once ever year or two. free shipping, plus the discounts and also sometimes they give you free stuff if you look at current promo page like hats or cleaners etc.

anyway, ive been running this in my sport bikes for 7-8 years, never missing a beat. from street to stunt to track use.
I also use amsoil in my cars, in scooters, motorcycles, mowers, etc. everything runs great, even got it inside my backup generator.

·
Registered
718 Posts
I would have discontinued use immediately after experiencing the clutch slippage in the Z900 and never used it again. I certainly wouldn't have tried using it again in another more powerful bike. That oil is really designed for extremely hard use applications with very short oil change intervals and isn't very well suited towards street use. Definitely recommend getting it out of there as soon as possible and replacing it with something else before putting anymore miles on the bike and risking your clutch being destroyed.

·
Registered
2016 f
701 Posts