GSXS 1000 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just curious as to what various owners understand or think as to the expression ''detuned''. One owner expressed his opinion that Suzuki was wrong and had made a mistake in detuning the old K5 motor that the GSXS is based on , down to a paltry 140 hp. I am not a mechanic and don't have any particular knowledge of engines other than owning and riding many many different bikes over the last 47 yrs since my first one back in 1969.I take the detune idea to be that the motor is
1 not stressed to the max
2 does not need to rev to outer space to be in the sweet spot
3 delivers punch via torque down low in the rev range
4 is easy to ride in real world everyday riding due to points 1,2,3,
5 HP is not the be all all and end all of a good all round motorbike
I personally find 140 hp in the GSXS package is a really potent mix , this is not a naked RSV4 Aprilla or BMW 1000 RR, it is a bike built to a budget that delivers and punches way above it's weight, in my humble opinion,and as such and within the design and intended rider parameters, Suzuki has nailed it. I believe that de-tuned means a very long reliable engine life for this bike and i am happy about that because I have no plans to ever sell it.

·
Registered
29 Posts
simply put you could place a bugatti veyron in some peoples driveway and they would complain about it not being able to rev to infinity

if someone wants a super bike they should go buy a super bike, if someone wants a comfortable upright that will hands down toast 99% of the vehicles on the road at a good price point they should buy the GSXS1000

personally i spend more time trying not to delve into the throttle on public highways rather then goosing it and complaining about the de-tuned motor

·
Registered
90 Posts