GSXS 1000 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Finally got around to buying a GSX-S1000 and absolutely love it. I have already started looking at a few mods however and wanted a bit of feedback. One of the first things I'm looking at is a better rear shock. I've read all the info here and think I'm going with a Nitron but I can't decide on the model. Sounds like most have gone with the R1 but I'm wondering if it's worth going the R2 or R3? The R2 adds independent compression & rebound settings while the R3 adds high and low compression settings. It's about an extra $950 AUD going from the R1 to the R3 with optional preload adjuster.

I don't mind spending a bit of extra coin if there's a benefit from it but I'm no professional racer either. Nor do I know a great deal about suspension setups so would likely take it in to get this done and then leave it alone (or start learning more). Also, is the optional hydraulic preload adjuster worth while getting? This will be used as my daily ride around town, longer highway trips, few track days, bit of everything really. I don't take pillions very often but may load it up with luggage. Look forward to your thoughts! Cheers.

·
Registered
159 Posts
The upgraded models offer more adjustability. Having that adjustability doesn't directly mean it offers more performance, it means that you can fine tune things to get the ride just how you like it. I find most people are scared to touch the suspension settings, so all that adjustability goes to waste. It also gives you the ability to make changes for different situations (different roads, carrying a passenger, etc.). If you don't know what these adjusters do, are you willing to learn and try different settings?

The simplest way to see if it's worth it, will you touch the adjusters? If not, get the base model and have fun.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3