GSXS 1000 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi , i'm seriously considering inquiring the gsx-s1000 despite Being a complete Noobie to riding , i know this is in general a bad idea But hear me out :

- i'm in My 30 ( no wheliee , no crazy stuff ) which will bring us yo your question why inquiring a Liter Bike then ? i really felt in love with it and i feel it the best Bang of the bank over there
- i live in a place with no twesstie , no moutain .... just highway and cities
- i'm not gonna change Bike for a long time

would appreciate some feedback regarding the handling if it would be too much for me to handle , considering i'm calm and reasonable person i will totally drive within my limit and respect the Bike ( and By respect i mean pissing my pants of fear ) in other word is it too much to handle for a Newbie respecting him self ?

p.s : im 5"7 and i can flatfooted and feel completely comfortable on it

·
Registered
6 Posts
Do your self a favor - get a learner bike
I ride a number of bikes including a very fast race bike and a Wheelie monster Ducati
The GSX1000S has very fast acceleration that I am nervous about

·
Registered
593 Posts
I would consider myself to have a very similar temperament as you and was in an almost identical circumstance when I started out, however I listened to long term riders that I respected and started out an a 650 Bandit. Sure, I outgrew the Bandit after a couple of years, but inexperience also got me into a few spots of bother that I'm almost certain would have ended in tears (or worse) if I'd have been on any of the litre bikes I've owned.

My advice would be to think of you first bike as all part of the journey to bigger and better bikes. Get something smaller and cheaper that isn't going to bite your ar$e in the blink of an eye when you get it wrong and use it to get a decent amount of experience.... you'll know when it's time to move on :)

·
Registered
99 Posts